Several national surveys of drivers have found that passengers think it’s
just fine for the designated driver to have a few drinks, as long as the
driver’s blood alcohol level remains below the legal limit or they
seem well enough to drive. Those are frightening conclusions since research
on drinking and driving shows that most people feel the effects caused
by alcohol much earlier than they believe. In fact, studies from the
Journal of Studies on Alcohol and Drugs have found driving skills become impaired with a blood alcohol level of
as low as 0.02 percent — much lower than legal limit here in Indiana.
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, almost
29 people in the United States die in alcohol-impaired vehicle crashes
every day. And although drunk-driving fatalities have fallen by a third
in the last three decades, drunk-driving crashes claim more than 10,000
lives per year. In Marion County alone, there is a drastic rise of alcohol
infused crashes, with Indianapolis home to the majority.
It doesn’t take a lot for the effects of alcohol to impact driving
and decision-making skills. In fact, a standard drink is equal to 14.0
grams (0.6 ounces) of pure alcohol. Generally, this amount is found in:
If you agree to stay sober and be the safe ride for others, remember that
even one drink will break that pledge and put everyone on the road at
risk of serious injury or being involved in a tragic accident. Refresh
yourself on the consequences of driving drunk. If you have been in a crash
and arrested for operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated, you will
be handcuffed and taken to the police station. Your car and your person
will be searched and the car will be towed at your expense. You will be
asked to take a certified breath test. If you refuse, your license will
automatically be suspended for one year
via the implied consent law IC 9-30-6-1. If you take a breath test and it shows that your blood alcohol content
is .08 percent or more, your driver’s license will be suspended
for a minimum of 30 days. To be released from jail, bail will have to
be posted depending on your accident circumstances.
If you are the designated driver and decide to start drinking, speak up
and plan for alternative transportation for your group like a cab or use
a ride sharing service at the end of your night instead.
If you or a loved one were injured as the result of the poor decisions
of a negligent driver who was drunk, the
car accident attorneys at Wagner Reese can assist you in pursuing the compensation you deserve.
There is no risk, as we never collect any kind of fee unless your case
is settled or won. Contact us today at (888) 204-8440 to schedule a